To content


  • The first steps towards the new master's degree programme were already taken around 2010. The programme was then accredited on May 10, 2011 by the Central Evaluation and Accreditation Agency (ZEvA) in Hannover as “university degree Master of Arts (M.A.)”.
  • A special feature in the founding process of this degree programme was the cooperation between the Faculty of Economics and Social Sciences (FK11), the Faculty of Education, Psychology and Sociology (FK12), the Faculty of Human Sciences and Theology (FK14) and the Social Research Center of Dortmund (SFS).
    • This way, students were able to choose from lectures from all participating faculties and thereby play a substantial role in determining the focus of their studies. Courses offered by other faculties, for instance the Faculty of Spatial Planning (FK9), were also included in the range of courses, thus allowing for even greater diversification.
  • The programme was structured with three core modules (Sociology of Innovation and Technology, Business and Innovation, Sociology of Knowledge), which all students were required to complete. Students were additionally required to take five supplementary modules, which could be freely selected from the areas covered by the core modules or from areas covered by other subjects. These included, for example: Philosophy of Technology, European Planning Cultures and Human Resource Management. The course was rounded off with a methodology and research module and concluded with the master’s thesis, which could be written and supervised in numerous different departments.
  • A total of 50 students graduated from the "SowIn" program.
  • The graduates of the program have found employment in a broad range of occupational fields that reflect the diversity of the course itself.
  • These fields of activity include:
    • o Science, university development and teaching
    • o Human resources
    • o Technology and innovation consulting
    • o Technology and innovation policy
    • o Media, museums, archives

Location & approach

The  Technical University of Dortmund campus is located near the Dortmund West autobahn junction, where the A45  (Frankfurt-Dortmund) crosses the A40 (Ruhrschnellweg B1). The most convenient autobahn exits are found on the A45 in Dortmund-Eichlinghofen (closer to the south campus) and on the B1 / A40 in Dortmund-Dorstfeld (closer to the north campus). The university is signposted at both exits.

The TU Dortmund has its own S-Bahn station ("Dortmund Universität") on the North Campus. From there, the S-Bahn line S1 runs every 20 or 30 minutes to Dortmund’s central station and in the opposite direction to Düsseldorf’s central station via "Bahnhof Düsseldorf Flughafen". This makes the university directly accessible from the cities of Bochum, Essen, Mülheim an der Ruhr and Duisburg. Furthermore, the TU Dortmund may be reached via buslines 445, 447 and 462.
Individual timetable information for public transport is also available on the website of the Rhine-Ruhr Transport Association, and the Dortmund Transport Authority also offers an interactive route network map.

One of the landmarks of the TU is the H-Bahn overhead monorail which connects the two campuses. Line 1 runs every 10 minutes between the stops Dortmund Eichlinghofen and the Technology Center via Campus South and Dortmund Universität S. Line 2 shuttles every 5 minutes between the stops Campus North and Campus South. It covers this distance in two minutes.

To get from the Dortmund airport to the campus, we recommend taking the "Airport Express" to Dortmund's central train station (20 minutes), and then boarding the S-Bahn there.  A wider range of international flight connections is offered by Düsseldorf Airport, about 60 kilometres away, which can be reached directly by S-Bahn from the university station.